Skip to main content

My History

Favorites

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Columbus in Historic Photographs

  • All fields: Program
(104 results)



Display: 20

    • Hayes Hall

    • Ohio State University-Buildings
    • Hayes Hall, built in 1893, it is the oldest remaining building on The Ohio State Universities campus. Originally, it was built to be used for the Industrial Arts program, the Art program, and the Military Department. The building was named after...
    • University District
    • Hayes Hall at The Ohio State university

    • Ohio State University-Buildings
    • Hayes Hall, built in 1893, it is the oldest remaining building on The Ohio State Universities campus. Originally, it was built to be used for the Industrial Arts program, the Art program, and the Military Department. The building was named after...
    • University District
    • James B. Recchie Design Award 1985 program cover

    • Memorials;
    • Program cover for the James B. Recchie Design Award in 1985. The award is bestowed annually by the Columbus Landmarks Foundation for excellence in urban design. 1985 was the second year the award was given and the John and Dorothy Galbreath...
    •  
    • Columbus Composite Views

    • Street Scenes-Composite Views
    • 1912 Centennial Program selects some highlights for Columbus tourists.
    •  
    • John Philip Sousa Music Program

    • Music-Performers
    • The music program for John Philip Sousa and his Band's appearance at Memorial Hall on November 26, 1927.
    •  
    • Dedication Program for the Carnegie Library

    • Columbus Metropolitan Library (Franklin County, Ohio)
    • The four-page program for the dedication of the Carnegie Library (aka now as the Main Library) of the Columbus Public Library. The dedication took place on April 4, 1907.
    • Downtown
    • Schonthal, Joseph (8/15/1854-12/15/1929)

    • Portraits; Portrait Photographs
    • Schonthal, a manufacturer, was president of Temple Israel 1903-29 and founded the Schonthal Center and Jewish Infants Home of Ohio.
    • Near North University; University District;
    • James C Campbell House

    • Architecture, Domestic
    • Residence of James C. Campbell, State Agent, John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company.
    • Near East;Olde Towne East
    • Thurman, Allen William (5/??/1847-11/15/1922)

    • Portraits-Prominent Persons
    • Allen W. Thurman, son of the late Allen G. Thurman, is one of the well known attorneys of Columbus. Mr. Thurman is a Democrat of national reputation and is noted for his enthusiastic and advanced views on the silver question. He is high in...
    •  
    • Herman A. Hoster House

    • Architecture, Domestic
    • Herman and Martha Hoster's home was built in 1888.
    • Near East;Olde Towne East; King Lincoln
    • Conrad Born Jr

    • Portraits-Prominent Persons; Caricatures
    • Conrad Born Jr (9/21/1844-11/6/1913) began in the brewery business in Columbus in 1864.
    • Brewery District
    • Everett Junior High School

    • Columbus Public Schools (Ohio); Junior high schools--United States; Public schools--Ohio--Columbus.; Schools-Columbus Public
    • The first North High School was constructed at 100 West 4th Avenue between 1892-3. The large, three story stone Romanesque Revival structure was designed by Columbus architect, Frank L. Packard. The building had 14 rooms and cost $14,000. A newer...
    • Near North University; Victorian Village
    • Loving, Starling (11/13/1827-9/2/1911)

    • Portraits-Prominent Persons
    • Starling Loving was Columbus's preeminent physician. He assisted the sisters of St Francis to set up their hospital which opened 2/17/1865. He was a trustee of Starling Medical College 1872 and its dean 1881-1906. He was president of Ohio State...
    •  
    • Pasteur Institute of Columbus

    • Sanitariums and Clinics
    • Pasteur Institute for the treatment of rabies was established ca. 1910 and ceased operations ca. 1929
    • Near North University; University District
    • Sauer's Cafe

    • Restaurants
    • Sauer's Cafe was founded by William F. Sauer as The Schlitz in 1901. From 1905-1918 the restaurant was known as Sauer's Cafe.
    • Downtown
    • Milani, Pio, Dr.

    • Portraits; Portrait Photographs;
    • Dr. Pio Miliani was a physician who lived in Columbus in 1912 at 101 Spruce Street.
    • Downtown;
    • Nassano, Joe

    • Portraits; Portrait Photographs
    • Joe Nassano operated his famous Royal Cafe, 141 S. 4th Street, 1895-1944. Mr. Nassano was famous for wearing diamond shirt buttons.
    •  
    • Alphonso Capretta

    • Portraits; Portrait Photographs
    • Alphonso Capretta (10/15/1875-10/9/1952) was born in Italy and came to Columbus in 1903. He began work as a carpenter and worked that trade in New York before coming to Ohio. In Columbus, he was engaged first in the hotel business with a cafe. ...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK