Skip to main content

My History

Favorites

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: Columbus in Historic Photographs

  • : House
(721 results)



Display: 20

    • Almon Edwin Pitts portrait

    • Portraits; Portrait Photographs
    • Almon Edwin (A. E.) Pitts was born in Columbus, Ohio on February 29, 1860 to Charles D. and Laura L. Pitts. In 1881 A. E. and his father Charles opened the C. D. Pitts & Son shoe store at 29 North High Street. A. E. developed the business and by...
    • Downtown
    • William G Deshler House

    • Historic buildings; Catholic Church. Diocese of Columbus (Ohio); Bishops
    • View of the Bishop's house, facing west from St. Joseph's Cathedral. Built in 1848, by William G. Deshler, this two story stone house later came to be part of the church grounds. Deshler's son John was born in the house in 1852, but the family...
    • Downtown
    • St Joseph's Cathedral - Rectory and Bishops House

    • Historic buildings; Catholic Church. Diocese of Columbus (Ohio); cathedrals
    • Street level view of St Joseph's Roman Catholic Cathedral, Rectory and Bishops house. The Bishop's house on the left side of the image, was originally the home of William G. Deshler before he built a larger house at Broad and Third Streets in 1859....
    • Downtown
    • Gay Street Engine House #1 Engraving

    • Fire stations; Columbus (Ohio). Fire Division; Fire departments;
    • Engraving by William Riches of Gay Street Engine House #1 which operated from 1854-1892. The Gay Street Engine House, also known as the North Engine House, was built in 1854 and was the original No. 1 House. It was a single bay House and housed a...
    • Downtown
    • Gay Street Engine House.

    • Fire fighters; Fire stations
    • The Gay Street Engine House, also known as the North Engine House, was built in 1854 and was the original No. 1 House. It was a single bay House and housed a hand force pump named "Fame" and later in 1861 a Silsbee Steamer. The station was in use...
    • Downtown
    • Bishop's Residence at St Joseph's Cathedral

    • Historic buildings; Catholic Church. Diocese of Columbus (Ohio); Bishops
    • Built in 1848, by William G. Deshler, this two story stone house later came to be part of the church grounds of St. Joseph's Cathedral. Deshler's son John was born in the house in 1852, but the family moved on in 1859 when Deshler built a larger...
    • Downtown
    • Hubbard Residence, North High Street

    • Historic buildings; Homes USE Dwellings; Architecture, Domestic
    • View of the east facade of the William B. Hubbard house along High Street. The sloping roof of the home can be seen among the trees on the property. A gate and long gravel drive lead to the front of the house, which is set well back off High...
    • Near North University; Victorian Village; Short North
    • Metropolitan Opera House

    • Theaters
    • The November 30, 1874 Dispatch reported that the Metropolitan Opera House was the first building in Columbus with electric ignited, gas jet lighting.
    • Downtown
    • William B Hubbard House

    • Historic buildings; Homes USE Dwellings; Architecture, Domestic
    • Bare trees surround the home of William B. Hubbard, a lawyer, legislator, financier and prominent citizen of Columbus. Hubbard spent time as an Ohio Senator and was President of the US Agricultural Society in his later years. He built the house in...
    • Near North University; Victorian Village; Short North
    • Alexander G. Patton house photograph

    • Architecture, Domestic; Architecture, Domestic; Dwellings
    • Photograph of the house of Alexander Gilchrist Patton, who founded Patton Manufacturing Company in 1874 as makers of hollow ware, cast-iron tea pots, kettles, and griddles. The company operated until 1900. This house was constructed in 1878. The...
    • Downtown
    • Harrison House

    • Architecture, Domestic
    • Located at 570 West Broad Street in Franklinton, the Harrison House, also known as the Jacob Oberdier (or Overdier) House, was built in 1807. The name Harrison House came from General William Henry Harrison who used it as his military quarters...
    • Franklinton
    • Bishop's Residence at St Joseph's Cathedral

    • Historic buildings; Catholic Church. Diocese of Columbus (Ohio); Bishops; Carriages and coaches
    • Horse drawn carriages drive down Broad Street, past the Bishop's Residence at St. Joseph's Cathedral. Built in 1848, by William G. Deshler, this two story stone house later came to be part of the church grounds of St. Joseph's Cathedral. Deshler's...
    • Downtown
    • George W. Foster house

    • Historic buildings; Dwellings; Housing-Houses-Franklin County
    • From the book- "The old Foster homestead which for years stood at the northeast corner of Mound and High streets, represented a type of architecture familiar to a generation ago, but now all but passed away, to the regret, it may be added, of many...
    • Downtown
    • Lucas Sullivant House

    • Architecture, Domestic;
    • The home of Lucas Sullivant, founder of Franklinton. The Sullivant residence was the first brick house built in Franklin County.
    • Franklinton;
    • Skeele House

    • Housing-Houses
    • Skeele House
    • West Olentangy;Marble Cliff
    • Neil House Beauty Shoppe

    • Historic hotels; Beauty parlors USE Beauty shops
    • Laura Riker and the Neil House Beauty Shoppe was located on the Mezzanine Floor of the third Neil House Hotel.
    • Downtown
    • Governor Joseph Foraker house photograph

    • Architecture, Domestic; Architecture, Domestic; Dwellings; Architecture; Governor's Residence (Columbus, Ohio); Governors
    • Photograph of Governor Joseph Foraker's home, where he lived from 1886 to 1890. Originally owned by Noah H. Swayne in 1848, Jacob D. Cox was probably the first governor to occupy the house in the 1860s, followed by Governors Hayes and Noyes. The...
    • Downtown
    • Engine House No. 18

    • Public Buildings-Fire Stations
    • The new Engine House No. 18 was dedicated on February 9, 2006. The 2-story 21,614 square foot building cost $4.3 million. The House Captain at the time of the dedication was Steven B. Heselden.The final move of equipment into the station was made...
    • South Linden
    • Young, Thomas Lowry (12/14/1832-7/20/1888)

    • Portraits; Portrait photographs
    • Thomas Lowry Young moved to Ohio in 1859 and served as Ohio House Representative 1866-1868 and Ohio Senator 1871-3. He was the Hamilton County Recorder 1869-1870, and was elected Ohio Lieutenant Governor 1875-7. In March, 1877 Rutherford B. Hayes...
    • Downtown
    • Harrison House photograph

    • Architecture, Domestic; Architecture, Domestic; Dwellings; Architecture
    • Photograph of Harrison House, thought to be the headquarters of Willam Henry Harrison during the war of 1812. This West Broad Street home now houses the Franklin County Genealogical & Historical Society. The house was built ca 1807 on lot 123 of...
    • Franklinton

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK